standing knee deep in a river and dying of thirst

How sad is that, to be surrounded by so much that can make you happy but not to realise it?  As the song goes, to be “standing knee deep in a river and dying of thirst.”  Over the past year I have tried to learn mindfulness and appreciation of all the bounty that surrounds me.  This year, I am going to notice and appreciate what makes me happy.

Today it was breakfast, a bowl of fresh, hot porridge with a sprinkling of demerara sugar.  I had forgotton quite how  much I love porridge and the extra upside is I was not hungry at all until lunchtime 🙂

2 responses to “standing knee deep in a river and dying of thirst

  1. Hi my name is Donna i am on the SIMPLE ABUNDANCE SITE. I am really looking forward to reading your blog. I was following Denise and Allison but they stopped suddenly i hope that does not happen to you. It is great to be in touch with like minded people. I love reading you on the forum as of yet i don’t seem to be able to register. Maureen has been great but i still cant register so for now i will just read the forum. Good luck with your blog it looks great. Happy New Year.

  2. Thank you Donna. I hope to see you around both here at at SA. Happy New Year to you too.

Please do leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you.

