patience

I am not a naturally patient person.  Inside this grown woman lurks a three year old who leaps up and down and wants to see results now.  Every autumn I fill dark cupboards with pots, jars, teacups and all manner of containers with bulbs.  Narcissi, hyacinths, irises, snowdrops.  One by one I am starting to bring them out and I have discovered the joy of patience.  I have been watching this hyacinth gradually turn green as it soaks up the sunlight on my desk.  I can almost see the tip of the flower and I can begin to imagine its scent.  I  am enjoying the waiting game, eager to see each little change each day in anticipation of a thick white fragrant flower.

Please do leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you.

