journey

I don’t believe many people have this view as they drive to work in the morning.  As I come to the top of our lane and turn down towards the main (well in the general scheme of things!) road I am greeted by some of the most stunning views.

In the winter the haar settles over Durham, the cathedral tower just poking through giving an ethereal fairy-like quality, almost as if it is a magic floating island with no distinction between land and sky; the horizon just melts into the haar.

In bright sunlight you can see beyond Penshaw, the view stretches on forever and ever.

In the summer it becomes a multicoloured patchwork of grass, rape and wheat, speckled occasionally by little white fluffy dots of sheep.

And always, standing firm and proud is the cathedral, those Prince Bishops certainly knew what they were doing.

I may not always want to be up early, and depositing the dancer at the station for her school train at 7.30am is not my idea of fun but when this is my daily commute I realise just how lucky I am.

4 responses to “journey

  1. Hi Gillie,
    I love your writing style and I have enjoyed several of your articles on this visit. County Durham is on my list of places to visit one of these days.
    I think the knack of appreciating one’s surroundings (like your commute) is to actually see. We all get so distracted by stress and routine that we often forget to stop and smell the roses.
    I have the great good fortune to work from home with no regular commute. When I think of it, I simply step through our back door and enjoy the garden, trees and the tremendous birdsong with which we are blessed here. It gives me an instant lift that lasts for hours.
    Thanks and best wishes,
    Danny

    • skybluepinkish

      Hi Danny,

      Thank you for your very generous words. If you do make it to Durham please let me know (my mother will be most impressed that I have met the cottage smallholders in person!) I would love to show you our view. I might be less keen to show you our garden as I am sure it is nowhere near as neat and productive as yours despite all my ministrations!

      I have spent the last few years working quietly on mindfulness and the difference it makes is immense which is why I started my blog in the first place. I have been keeping a gratitude journal for many years but I wanted to explore what made me happy. Sometimes I have found it is the moving on from not being happy that is the push to really appreciating what I have around me.

      As of July I too will commute no further than my back door. There are plans and there are bills, I am hoping the two meet somewhere comfortably in the middle!
      All the best
      Gillie

  2. What a lovely blog! I found it through a link on the wonderful Frugal Queen blog. Love your comments and pictures on Durham – I work there and love it apart from the building site it has become over the past months.

    Best wishes

    Jane

  3. skybluepinkish

    Thank you Jane. I think building site is an understatement – I work at the top of the Bailey and my children are choristers at the cathedral so I am up and down that particular hell hole on a regular basis. I am astonished my blood pressure remains so low!

    Gillie

Please do leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you.

