pottering

Today is garden day.  Yesterday was revamp the bedroom day.  It was hard work, there is still stuff waiting to be rehomed and rehoused but our bedroom is more light, airy and feels a lot more tranquil.  It was good to wake up, roll over and see space.

So today I need to turn my attention to the garden.  I love an abundant garden full of flowers and fruit and vegetables.  But if I am honest I am not a great gardener.  I follow instructions sporadically, Gardeners’ Question Time is a source of endless fascination to me.  I never knew there were so many rules.  I am also irregular in my attention.  Consequently I have to spend hours and hours weeding because I leave it for so long that the bindweed naturalises and invites the rampaging buttercup over for tea.

I have completed the Extreme Weeding Challenge for this year and have sown some seeds, started to fill the greenhouse and put some hardier seedlings in the Vegetable Patch.  Today I intend to complete the task.  But today I shall do it differently.

Today I shall take my iPod out with me and garden to music.
Today I shall take a book or magazine out with me and take regular breaks to enjoy the view.
Today I shall wear a pretty skirt and not tatty jeans.
Today I shall stop when I feel like it and take the dogs for a walk.
Today it will be fun and not a job to be overcome.

Finally, today I shall take the flower bombs given to me in memory of Patrick Davies and set them free.

7 responses to “pottering

  1. I lost interest in gardening when Geoff Hamilton died. I miss him and his faithful jeans.
    I approve of your ideas to break up the toil – dog walking preferable to gardening any day – and that last sentence added yet another tick in my virtual blog approval book. Love this blog – keep ’em coming.

  2. you are so right..a gardening is to be enjoyed and therefore working in ti shoud be enjoyable.. for me this means lots of cups of tea and stickies sat in the middle of piles of greenery heading in different directions.
    I have a rat in my compost heap.. it has created an entire subway system..and it is taking the edge off the pleasure of composting at present.

  3. Vile things aren’t they. We have loads of problems with them because of the hens. Several drowned in the comfrey mix which was very satisfying although meant we had to start again on the comfrey mix.

  4. We just let the chopped leaves stew in the water, but apparently that’s the idiots way and there is a better method. I’ll google it and see what I can find.

  5. Me too I’ve been in the garden all day ! Love it !

  6. Hi Gillian! You may already know through Twitter that you’re one of my chosen Inspirational Bloggers, much deserved of the award for, well, writing blogs which make me think and smile and encourage me to put pen to paper. Congratulations! I’m afraid that I need to ask some work of you though. The rules, if you choose to accept them, follow. It took me a bit of time to put together my post but it was fun. I hope you’ll take up the challenge and look forward to reading your post 🙂
    1. Display the award logo somewhere on the blog.
    2. Link back to the blog of the person who nominated you.
    3. State seven things about yourself.
    4. Nominate 15 other bloggers for the award and provide links to their blogs.
    5. Notify those bloggers that they have been nominated and of the award’s requirements.

    PS Hoping this might inspire you back to blogging??

Please do leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you.

