Inspiring blogs

The lovely Jackie over at http://jackiebuxton.blogspot.co.uk/ has nominated me for my first ever award.  Then like buses another one came along (see next post).  I have been shamed into writing my blog again so thank you to Jackie and Scribbler68 (more of her in the next post).

Jackie was one of the first blogs I started to read when I decided it was time to take writing seriously and she has certainly inspired me and kept me on the straight and narrow even if she doesn’t know it!  Reading other writers’ blogs, published writers, new writers and all the inbetweens is for me a bit like revising for exams with friends, or going to the gym and telling yourself you won’t get off the treadmill until the woman next to you does!  Without realising it they egg you on, keep you going and remind you that it can be done.

Now I am supposed to reveal seven things about me you would probably not know ….

1. I am entirely deaf in 0ne ear.  This is remarkably useful when I want to go to sleep as I “put my good ear down” but can be a bit of a challenge if sitting at a big dinner table with the wrong ear facing up the table.  Hearing aids are useful but don’t replace a fully functioning ear but as I have no memory of hearing in that ear I am pretty used to it.

2. I have sat on the knees of John Lennon and Yoko Ono.  Apple Records was a client of my father’s and every year they held a Christmas party for the children of everyone involved with the company.  Each year one of their artists played Father Christmas.  That year JL played Father Christmas and YO Mother Christmas.

3.My cv is eclectic.  I have, in this order been  volunteer helath worker in Africa, secretary, theatre company gofer, actress, tv researcher, merchant banker, third world development worker, economic development worker  then I became a mother and didn’t go out to work at all and am now trying to earn a living from writing but supplement by working as a school registrar and helping with the family translation business.  I always wanted to be a spy when I grew up but if I was successful at that I wouldn’t be able to tell you 🙂

4. I used to spend many wonderful summers on a ranch in North Dakota.  My father and a friend were travelling in Europe just after they completed their National Service.  They bumped into five American girls in Rome who were on their way to London.  “Stay with my parents” said my father and gave them his address.  They duely arrived, slightly to the surprise of my grandmother as communication was obviously more limited in those days, and stayed for a few weeks.  When my mother went to Columbia she spent her holidays with one of the girls, now married and living on a ranch in ND.  In time her children came to visit Europe and stayed with us.  My parents were working in the States and I didn’t want to go to summer camp so I went to ND.  I am still in touch with the family, we have exchanged two generations of children over the Atlantic, but despite the fact that my father now lives in the US.  He and Claire, the girl he met in Rome have never met again.

5. I can burp the alphabet, including “W” although that one takes a bit of preparation.

6. I was taught English at Primary School bythe poet Ivor Cutler.

7. I am 48 and still scared of the dark.  When I was little I used to tell the ghosts to go away as they had completely succeeded in frightening me and they could move on to somebody else.

Now I have been asked to pass the baton on to 15 other bloggers who have inspired me  I am afraid I don’t read lots of blogs, just a few regularly so I could only manage 8, I hope I haven’t been disqualified!   Ladies and Gentlemen, let me introduce you to:

Celia at http://purplepoddedpeas.blogspot.co.uk/  such beautiful lino cuts

Froogs at http://frugalincornwall.blogspot.co.uk/ the most inspiring make do and mender on the entire internet

Jane at http://www.snapdragongarden.typepad.com/ wonderful handmade gifts and another Jack Black (not the actor) fan

Amanda at http://eleganceonashoestring.net does what it says on the lid

Jane at http://exmoorjane.blogspot.co.uk/ who fits in more in her life than I can ever achieve.

http://poshyarns.blogspot.co.uk/  all round gorgeousness and beautiful photographs

Debbie at http://countryheartandhome.blogspot.co.uk/  more beautiful edibles, makeables, doables, lovely stuff!

Catherine at http://catherine-fox.blogspot.co.uk/  wonderful author and bravely blogging about not buying any clothes AT ALL all year.

In accepting your award, please:

1. Display the award logo somewhere on the blog.
2. Link back to the blog of the person who nominated you.
3. State seven things about yourself.
4. Nominate 15 other bloggers for the award and provide links to their blogs.
5. Notify those bloggers that they have been nominated and of the award’s requirements.

I look forward to your posts 🙂


2 responses to “Inspiring blogs

  1. Ah, you see? My work is done! My aim was to get you blogging again et voila! Talk about a London Bus, nothing since May and then two blogs in one day 🙂 Great to see you scribbling again. I love your posts so please do keep them coming.

Please do leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you.

