Planners

I love planners, I love lists, I love goal setting, I love being organised.  I have books just for my lists, I love sitting down at the end of the year and setting out the annual family ring binder for next year (ring binder with monthly dividers, lists of birthdays and things to do for each month at the front of each mothly section and then I file tickets/school trip info/itineraries etc in the section for each month – just in case you wanted to know 🙂 )

If you are reading this you will fall into one of two categories, in my experience there are only two. Either you with think I am barking mad or you will be nodding sagely as you read.  It is quite possible that if you fall into the latter category you share my need to ensure that the washing is hung in a certain order and using only one colour peg per line …

So imagine my joy and excitement when I found this blog  http://www.plannerisms.com    a whole blog dedicated to planners, journals and diaries.  I have been reading it for a week and am still only part way through and I can’t keep up with all the links.  I think I had about 10 tabs open in Firefox this morning alone!

For the record I currently use one of these in oxblood http://www.filofax.co.uk/store/businessdetails.asp?catId=10&productId=284 for The Lists.  I replaced the  scrappy pad with an A4 spiral bound book and write todays list on the LHS and use the RHS for notes.  Today’s list is taken from The Master List which is a list of everything I need to do at all in the next month or so.  I have to be able to carry that around with me at all times so it is in a tiny Moleskine notebook (the really itsy bitsy ones) and lives in the pocket of my diary which is currently a Pielnoble 3 1/2 ” x 4 1/2″ filofax alike with a week to a view diary.  Then of course there is the Family Monthly Ringbinder and online I use Best Year Yet for goal setting and  reviewing.

But, now I have a lovely Quo Vardis Textagenda (also in Ox blood to match my folder)  http://quovadisplanners.com/catalog/textagenda  and am planning on replacing the inner in my Filofax folder with this from Uncalendar  http://www.uncalendar.com/unc?action=display&orderCode=ULF-00001  (in red of course, though I fear it won’t be very close to Ox Blood)   I’ll use the top diary part of the  Quo Vardis for diary and the bit underneath for the daily list leaving the Filofax folder for planning.  Oh this is so exciting!!  Oh and did you know my little pencil case is in Ox Blood too?  I do like things to match 🙂

4 responses to “Planners

  1. Thanks for the mention, I’m glad you like my blog! 🙂

    I love your combo of the Textagenda (don’t you love the smooooth paper??), Filofax and Uncalendar (LOVE the goal setting!)!

    Heads up about the differences between A4 vs US Letter size, which is what the Uncalendar looseleaf Full Size inserts are:

    http://www.uncalendar.com/unc?action=display&orderCode=PFR-00005

    US Full Size (or Letter Size) is 8 1/2 by 11 inches, which is slightly wider and slightly shorter than A4 size. Also, the hole configuration is different with 3 holes (top, bottom and middle). So you would need to re-punch the pages to fit into an A4 binder. Or, you could order the looseleaf in the binder:

    http://www.uncalendar.com/unc?action=display&orderCode=PF-00003

    I have used most of the Uncalendar products so let me know if you have any questions about them!

    laurie (at) plannerisms (dot) com

    Happy Planning! 🙂

  2. Thanks Laure, I went for the spiral bind Uncalendar for just that reason. It will fit in the Filofax folder which is Folio size (I measured!). I am stalking the postman and waiting for 1st August when I can use the textagenda!! I am a fountain pen user so am very fussy about paper which is why I was so excited when I saw the Quo Vadis and then read that the paper was so lovely – which it is 🙂 I’ll let you know how I get on.

    Gillie

  3. Gillie….need help in how to organise myself…I’m usually not too bad, but need to more seamlessly (Oh how I LOVE that word) integrate my academic,professional, family, and Maxima’s academic and social diaries into one, in preparation for the autumn, when I will be sorely tested…I refuse to give up my ring bound Stella Cottrell Palgrave Student Planner though….next academic years is still bound in plastic wrap, awaiting the grand opening ritual…..xxxxx

  4. So do tell, what is a stella Cottrell Palgrave student planner? I will have to google, I need to know!

Please do leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you.

