Filling boxes

Boxes, I have a lot of boxes at the moment.  I’m not moving house, I am building some new vegetable gardens using this method  or this one if you prefer the US equivalent!  Personally I think they are both brilliant.  Anyway, I need lots of newspaper and/or cardboard for the base.  I have used up our entire firelighting supply of newspaper and have had to resort to making vast orders on the internet in order  to feed the cardboard requirement (well needs must and a girl’s fancy turns to lipstick in the spring and just think how many lipsticks I need to buy to fill a really BIG box!)

However, the boxes I am thinking of are not the card or even plastic variety.  But the mental ones.  The ones we use to put things in order in our minds, to prioritise and codefy so that day to day life can potter along at a reasonable pace without disappearing down the portaloo when we aren’t paying attention.

You may have noticed that we have just reached the end of the first quarter of 2013.  Time to reasse the goals I set in January.  This is a bit disingenuous as I assess weekly and monthly goals so I already have a pretty good idea where I am at.  However, quarterly goals are slightly different.  They are milestones rather than goals, a subtle difference but you could say that Casanova used his notches on the bedpost as milestones marking his progress to his long-term goals…

I have goals that cover all aspects of my life, I like to think of myself as a well-rounded individual.  Actually, hopefully less rounded as of July 2013 so that I can wear a bikini without frightening the fish (to be found under Goal 2 “Take care of myself inside and out”).  Nonetheless in the year that I take up writing full-time it would be strange not to have some goals and milestones focussed on the written word.

Obtain an agent, a six figure book deal and sell film rights to Warner Brothers for an obscene amount of money did occur to me, but whilst I believe it is important to dream I also think it is important to have at least one’s big toe on the ground.

Timesmudger is complete.  It has been rejected by three agents but was also requested in full by an agent I didn’t even contact.  As far as boxes go, that one is fuller than I expected.

Dorothy is filling up nicely.  It’s a slow process but at least that way I know what’s in the box.  Nothing worse than unpacking at random because you don’t know where anything is.

Finally I have acquired some new and unexpected boxes.  I am off to Edinburgh tomorrow to set up a whole new box of stories from Cape Verde which I am thrilled to bits about.

As we move into the second quarter of 2013 what boxes are you taking forward and how well have you filled them?

14 responses to “Filling boxes

  1. I love the idea of using boxes to organize goals, and then pack up the ones you don’t need anymore. Actually, I love the idea of flexible goals most of all. So many of us get so attached, rigidly so, to our goals even if it’s clear that the moment has passed or that the goal no longer fits us. Thanks for the reminder that letting them go doesn’t necessarily mean we’ve failed!

  2. What a great idea, to use boxes in this way. And I have a new favorite website–that one of Charles Dowding. I get all goosepimply just looking at it! Wow! I think I love your blog, Gillian!

  3. That is how I made my own gardens and now I am creating gardens at my children’s school! I love your metaphor for boxes…I have quite a few of my own that I am filling and giving away 🙂

  4. Oh, I envy you because you’re working on your garden. Something I’ve been trying to put off for a long time. Well, this post woke me up!

  5. Wonderful Gillie, I am moving house and I am so not looking forward to being reunited with them. Have a wonderful time in Edinburgh and you WILL find a publisher !

  6. Great post! Gardening is not my thing to do, but I love seeing gardens (box gardens are great) and knowing that there are gardeners in the world! And yes, we all have mental boxes! I’m happy that WorkFlowy is helping me clear some of those boxes so I can look at the bigger picture in life.

  7. I love boxes, any type as long as they’re neat and orderly and the elves come and sort them out for me, now and again. And I love requests for the full ms – yay! That’s brilliant news, keep us posted.

  8. I, too, love the ideas of using boxes to organize my goals! Will start sorting things tomorrow…a goal I can get into. Thanks! 😀

  9. Oh, no … It’s April already, what have I done with my year? Mentally I’m sitting in a pile of hopes and good intentions and am really quite short of boxes to put them in.

    All the best in Edinburgh – sounds intriguing!

Please do leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you.

